... for openness and credibility....

Iranian Presidential Elections, 2013

The 11th presidential elections since the 1979 Islamic revolution were held in Iran on 14 June 2013. Elections are held every four years and a president can hold office only for two terms. Mahmoud Ahmadinejad had won the elections in 2005 and 2009 and hence was not eligible for re-run. After scrutiny the powerful 12-member Guardian Council approved eight candidates from among over 600 applicants. Two reformist candidates pulled out of the race in support of Hassan Rouhani a moderate cleric from Semnan province in North Iran. According to the elections rules, candidate winning more than 50 percent votes would be declared elected. However, if no clear winner emerges in the first round, a run-off is held between the first two candidates. On 15 June, a day after elections were held the Interior Ministry announced that Hassan Rouhani has won the presidential elections with 50.7 percent valid votes. Following is the details of elections:

Election Date: 14 June 2013

Counting: 15 June 2013

Total No of eligible voters: 50,483,192

Voter’s turnout: 36,704,156 (72.7 percent)

Valid votes: 35,458,747

Invalid votes: 1,245,409

Hassan Rouhani; votes secured: 18,613,329 (50.7 percent)

Other Candidates:
Muhammd Baqar Qalibaf: 6,077,292 votes

Saeed Jalili: 4,168,946 votes

Mohsen Rezaei Mirqaid: 3,884,412 votes

Ali-Akbar Vilayati: 2,268,753 votes

Syed Muhammad Gharazi: 446,015 votes

Sources: Ministry of Interior, Islamic Republic of Iran and Press TV, Iran

Compiled by Md. Muddassir Quamar

Md. Muddassir Quamar is a Doctoral Candidate at the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University. Email

As part of its editorial policy, the MEI@ND standardizes spelling and date formats to make the text uniformly accessible and stylistically consistent. The views expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views/positions of the MEI@ND. Editor, MEI@ND: P R Kumaraswamy